Uncategorized

DUSTOFF Association Past Presidents

Chuck Mateer (1980–81)……………………….deceasedJohn Hosley (1981–82)…………………………..mjohnhosley@gmail.comByron Howlett (1982–83)………………………deceasedEd Taylor (1983–84)………………………………..eddotaylor@aol.comThomas Scofield (1984–85)…………………..tcscofield@comcast.netJoseph Madrano (1985–86)………………….deceasedJim Ritchie (1986–87)Donald Conkright (1987–88)………………..dconkright@sbcglobal.netRoy Hancock (1988–89)Glen Melton (1989–90)………………………….deceasedGerald Nolan (1990–91)………………………..gerrynolan@aol.comJim Truscott (1991–92)…………………………..jtrus5@aol.comRoger Opio (1992–93)Ed Bradshaw (1993–94)…………………………deceasedRobert Romines (1994–96)……………………deceasedDaniel Gower (1996–97)………………………..aggiedustoff@yahoo.comCharlie Webb (1997–98)………………………..dustoff6@hotmail.comHerb Coley (1998–99)…………………………….hscoley@gvtc.comMerle Snyder (1999–2000)……………………mndsnyder@comcast.netGregg Griffin (2000–01)…………………………lonestar06@satx.rr.comJeff Mankoff (2001–02)………………………….jeffmankoff@gmail.comKen Crook (2002–03)……………………………..kcrook@satx.rr.comArt Hapner (2003–04)…………………………….hapnera@erols.comErnie Sylvester (2004–05)………………………deceasedGarry Atkins (2005–06)………………………….garrylynatkins@aol.comDoug Moore (2006–07)………………………..Dmoore78@comcast.netTimothy Burke (2007–08)……………………..tburke_76@yahoo.comRobert …

DUSTOFF Association Past Presidents Read More »

DUSTOFF Association History

The Association derives its name, DUSTOFF, from the radio call sign given to the first aeromedical helicopter evacuation unit in Vietnam, the 57th Medical Detachment (Hel Amb), which arrived in-country in 1962. The 57th initially communicated internally on any vacant frequency it could find. In Saigon, the Navy Support Activity, which controlled all call words …

DUSTOFF Association History Read More »

Larry Wagoner

Larry Wagoner, 58, of Pierre, died Saturday, Nov. 18, 2006 at St. Mary’s Hospital in Pierre. Larry was born on Dec. 19, 1947 in Pierre to George and Myrtle (Hauschild) Wagoner. He grew up in Canning until the second grade when his family moved to Springfield, Ore. At the age of 13 he moved to …

Larry Wagoner Read More »

Jim Phelan

Jim Phelan, who was involved in the first helicopter combat rescue, died at his home on 16 May 2006. He was also the husband of the late Jean Ross Howard Phelan, founder of the Whirly-Girls. Phelan, a crew chief, performed the first helicopter combat rescue, along with pilot Carter Harman, on 25-26 April 1944. This …

Jim Phelan Read More »

Scroll to Top